Packing Up, Leaving Our House, and Embracing The Adventure of “Homelessness”

It’s official: We no longer reside in a proper four-walled home, nor will we until 2014. I’m not sure that the reality of my newfound lifestyle has truly hit me yet, but I’m enjoying this phase of transition to van-dwelling. It’s different, it’s lacking insulation, and it’s quite generous with cold temperatures.

Our van all packed up with climbing gear, camping equipment, and mismatched belongings.We’ve reduced our belongings as much as possible before our final “dump” next week in Miami, and our last few meals have all included canned food – but it ain’t too shabby. This morning was our first day waking up with no kitchen to cook breakfast in, but it turned out to be one of the most pleasant mornings.

After brewing some strong coffee, we baked sliced potatoes in our small toaster oven, and accessorized it with melted cheese, fresh chives, and diced avocados – delicious. Our meager bounty was enjoyed out on a picnic table, where we formulated a game plan for the day.

I could get used to this.

Admittedly, there are a few things about “traditional” living that I miss already. I miss having a big kitchen for cooking meals from scratch, I miss the convenience of warm water to wash my face, and I miss the comfort of knowing a shower is available anytime I feel particularly dirty.

The most difficult change is a sudden lack of proper workspace or daily routine. My need to quickly adapt and catch up on all my beckoning work is undeniable, so I’m looking forward to a few mornings spent holed up at our local coffee shop, All Saints Café.

But other than that, the idea and process of living a drastically simplified life is treating me quite well. In the spirit of sharing my experience and working to inspire others to get out there and do what I’m doing, I wanted to open myself up to a little project:

Seriously, ask us anything about our yearlong Simply Adventure climbing trip! I’ll be posting a Simply Adventure Q&A next week,

so comment/e-mail/tweet me ANY question you have

about my trip, the planning process, my lifestyle, etc.

I’m excited to see what y’all come up with for the Q&A session.
Feel free to ask me (or Niko!) ANYTHING you’ve been wondering about our Simply Adventure trip.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Simply Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

10 Comments on “Packing Up, Leaving Our House, and Embracing The Adventure of “Homelessness””

  1. January 5, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    What’s your plan for accessing the internet?

  2. January 5, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    Sweet, I’m sooooo jealous, I did a long trip ages ago in a home converted van and miss it almost every day.
    I think the thing I found most stressful about it was the fact I was exploring Europe and on the back roads “they” do not always speak English so shopping for food was always entertaining and we free camped as much as possible to safe money and trying to find a spot every day where you feel safe was also a bit stressful but I would leave again tomorrow if I had the chance :-D

    So my question is where do you pan to camp/park overnight?

    Have a great trip ;-)

  3. January 5, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    Try adding fuel at your fave gas station. Find one with a boiling water tap on the side of coffee machine. Add boiling water to wide mouth thermos with face cloth in it. It will stay warm all nite. And makes for a refreshing warm spa morning . Just do a daily amount of fuel. And visit during off hours so as not to be a pain

    • suzanneva
      January 5, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

      Now thats a great tip!

    • January 6, 2013 at 8:20 am #

      Rob Bryant, if I had a trophy for the best advice EVER, I would give it to you. That is a truly fantastic idea!

  4. suzanneva
    January 5, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    this is my dream! Where do you plan to go? How do you get power to make coffee in the am for example? Finances- ru traveling off of savings? If so how did you decide what was a good amount? You said to ask questions :-)

  5. Jasmine
    January 8, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    How did you decide what/what not to bring? Was it a lengthy planning process? I admire you guys for doing this and I wish you the best of luck! :)

  6. January 11, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

    Congrats on your new adventure! I hope you embrace and savor the freedom.

  7. Courtney
    January 28, 2013 at 8:42 am #

    I’d like to know how you will be managing using the bathroom and washing clothes. do you have a porta-potty for on the road/camping until you visit a campsite with toilets and showers? And find laundromat places here and there when you go in to town? I guess I take my bathroom for granted! thanks! I’m excited to follow you on your journey!

    • Dan
      January 28, 2013 at 11:14 pm #

      Having lived on small sail boats for extended periods I’m telling you that porta-potties are disgusting! There are better emergency solutions when you are living in a car or van. For #1 Get an large empty laundry detergent bottle. The kind with the wide mouth. Cut out the spout. Use this a a pee bottle. Easier for guys but it is possible for ladies. You can dump these in any toilet. A pee bottle works great when you have to go in the middle of the night. For #2 Get a five gallon plastic bucket. Line it with a heavy duty black trash bag. Get some piddle-pads at your local pet store. Place a piddle pad inside to absorb liquids (disposable diapers will probably work). Use this combo for #2. Tie a knot in the bag as soon as you are done. Air fresheners help. You can dispose of this package in a trash can or dumpster. No different than disposing off pampers when you think about it.
      Rob’s tip is great. Never thought of that one. I use handy wipes. I use both the baby style and the anti-bacteria version.

Leave a Reply

