A peek into my desert-dwelling future with Austin Siadak’s “A Desert Life,” featuring Alf Randell

The cinematography is sharp and superb, the scenery is stunning, and let’s face it: Alf Randell is way too sexy with those big ‘ole turtle spectacles. Sure, he’s old enough to be my dad, but looking at him is like looking into my boyfriend’s future – and I’m pretty pleased with the outlook.

While my dreams of van-dwelling involve a slightly more pimped out vehicle (Niko promised I could revamp the interior with a shopping spree to Ikea), Alf’s outlook on living in the desert echo my own sentiments. Moving to Denver has been a great experience, but it definitely reinforced my notions that I’m no longer a city gal – and that doesn’t just apply to Miami anymore. I used to blame my South Florida hometown for my hard feelings about big cities, but it clearly applies to any large population. Too much concrete, not enough green.

I’ve found that I prefer surroundings that move slowly, and scenery that offers more trees and open space than parking lots and metal structures. I’d rather wake up to the bright glare of a sunrise than the honking of rush hour horns. For me, beers are better shared with a small group of rugged cohorts in a dirty bar than a crowd of rowdy strangers in a wild college town.

All this desert living talk reminds me –

I’ve got a huge announcement to make this week.

It’d be way too easy to give it all away, and I’m terrible with surprises, but I will tell you this – this year is going to see some major changes in my lifestyle, and 2013 is going to be one hell of a year for me and Niko. Stay tuned over the next few days for the big announcement. I hope you’re all as excited as I am.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

One Comment on “A peek into my desert-dwelling future with Austin Siadak’s “A Desert Life,” featuring Alf Randell”

  1. December 20, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    katie, thanks for calling me sexy. I just searched myself up on google. amusingly, i am listed as an actor on IMDB!

Leave a Reply

