Completing my solo journey after 33 days, 17 states, and 6,657 miles on the road

That short succession of numbers will forever be engraved in my mind: I spent 33 days visiting 17 states along a 6,657 mile course. You may remember my projected route, which formed a fat, misshaped path through the southeast and mid-west. My car traveled along as planned, until I arrived in Denver, Colorado – and decided to stay.

So the path was shortened, you assume? A fair conclusion to draw, but in fact, my permanent move to Colorado generously added an extra leg to the trip. Here is the final version of my solo trip route:

The center stretch and loop down to Miami from Tallahassee were the result of Denver’s slick ability to make a girl fall in love with a city and decide to jump Florida ship in favor of mountains and snow. After my buddy Douso altered his 1,300 mile cycling tour from Vancouver to San Francisco to hop a train in Reno and join me in the Mile High city, we both abandoned any half-assed plans we had been toying with and decided to stay in Denver. We enjoyed a few weeks in Denver, then loaded up in my car for one final visit down to Florida.

After 33 days spent traveling across the country, I am settling into this suddenly unfamiliar lifestyle of stability. Of course, sleeping on a couch in a household with seven climber men may not be most people’s idea of calm and stable – but this sudden lack of constant change has made this cramped living room I share with my three future housemates the most familiar thing in the world.

What have I learned on this journey? I’ve collected a wealth of perspective and insight to share and remember throughout these upcoming chapters of my life, but the most outstanding idea I now carry is the concept of change and time. Everything is changing, all the time. Change is sometimes difficult to cope with, but will ultimately lead you to better things, with time. And time is always on your side – this trip has taught me that a destroyed perception of hours and minutes opens up your life to a whole lot of living.

In truth, I’m already planning the next trip.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Stories & Odes, Travel & Adventure, Travel Planning & Tips

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

12 Comments on “Completing my solo journey after 33 days, 17 states, and 6,657 miles on the road”

  1. dena
    October 14, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    so incredibly proud of you!

    • October 19, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      I’m blessed to have had you as part of my journey!

  2. Jennelle
    October 18, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Katie,
    It looks like its been an incredible journey….. And I sure have enjoyed reading all about it….. Have fun in Denver but don’t forget about us poor folk in Miami..

    • October 19, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      I could never forget about mi familia en Miami – I can’t wait to come visit the Sunshine State.

  3. December 12, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Hi Katie, this trip looked seriously awesome :) Well done!

    • December 12, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      Thank you! It truly was one of the most profound experiences of my life (thus far – plenty more adventures are on the way).

  4. jennie
    September 5, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    Cant wait for the next trip, although disappointed I never had the chance to meet you in Denver. Love your blog!

  5. jennie
    September 5, 2012 at 6:52 am #

    On another note, I have always wondered what became of starsky through all this?

    • September 5, 2012 at 6:58 am #

      Wow, you totally just moved me to tears A) because you remembered Starsky and B) because I miss that little spud. He died while Niko and I were on our five-week trip last summer, my old roommate overfed him. :(

      I’m probably going to get him tattooed on my leg at some point during the big 2013 trip! Thanks for remembering him, that was really sweet and wonderful.

      PS: We’ll be in Denver next spring! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five ways to plan and execute successful solo traveling in America | THE MORNING FRESH - November 16, 2011

    […] September 2011, I embarked on my own solo road trip. My adventures in solitude took me to the peaceful mountains of western North Carolina, the […]

  2. Revisiting 6,657 miles of solitude, and looking forward to an autumn of personal adventure | THE MORNING FRESH - September 5, 2012

    […] was the first of many mornings (33 to be exact) that I would spend waking up in an unfamiliar place – but to call my journey one of […]

  3. A Beginner’s Guide to Car-Camping | THE MORNING FRESH - December 18, 2012

    […] Here’s what I discovered during my 6,657 mile solo trip: […]

Leave a Reply

