An evening and morning in Oakland, in photos.

Oakland has always been a distant myth of land in my perspective. Residing in San Jose and touring through San Francisco on the weekends, my year spent living in California offered little to no insight on the city dominated by Raiders fans. It wasn’t until my recent cross-country trip that I was able to truly experience this place.

I had envisioned Oakland as the Pacific coast version of Detroit – rough and tumble with very little room for skinny little ladies such as myself. Instead, what I encountered during my brief 12-hour excursion to the other side of the bay was a mix of fantastic home decor, sketchy neighborhood stoops, and classic architectural styles. I lack the proper words to describe Oakland, but these five photos best describe the adventure.



Basically, Oakland was much brighter and more colorful than I expected it to be. I certainly spotted the burly hoodlums and sketchy looking dudes in overcoats that I had envisioned, but the cheerful side of Oakland greatly and easily outweighed the creepy parts. Stay tuned for a more wordy recount of my afternoon trip to the climbing crag Mickey’s Beach off the northern end of San Fransisco, and photos from my most recent trip to Sand Rock, Alabama.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Photography, Road Trip 2011, Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

