A weekend in Key West with fireworks, tequila shots, and cotton candy sunsets

After a seven hour haul from Tallahassee, and dumping four years worth of junk into my Miami bedroom, I dove back into my car and cruised down to Key West for a weekend getaway with my best ladies, Brooke and Marisa.

The mini-vacation was exactly what I needed after a rough week. I love a good drive, and the road to Key West is one that cannot be beat. It’s 150 miles along the seaside, over long bridges, and onward through the sunset – which was fantastic on this particular day. I kept missing opportunities to pull over and take some photos, but I finally veered off the road at a beach area and amused some Asian tourists while I hung out of my car snapped shots of the jeweled sky hues.

The next 48 hours after arriving at Marisa’s house on the east side of the island were an absolute blur. I was coaxed out of my break-up shell with too many shots of Patron. I had never tasted it before, and for a lady who can’t take a shot to save her life, I am a big fan of this quality tequila as long as I have salt and lime, of course.

Marisa toured us through a collection of her favorite Key West spots, including Krawl’s little nook of beer heaven, lunch and rum runners at Caroline’s, entertaining live music at Pete’s Dueling Piano Bar, and my personal favorite, the hole-in-the-wall Cuban eatery that served me a giant helping of crispy bacon at 3:20 AM. Not to mention the lovely Key West sheriff with whom I shared a shot of espresso while I waited for my bacon to cook.

The highlight of the trip was the 4th of July. My entire visit to the island was damped by relentless rain, but it finally let up around 5:00 on the 4th, just in time for a great fireworks display on the beach. I snapped hundreds of pictures during the show in the sky, and have a few surprising captures to share. I got lost from the group while I was taking all these pictures, and at first I kind of freaked out about being separated from the herd. After a few minutes of looking around, I resolved myself to my solitude and started to enjoy this new ‘alone’ thing. It’s really not so bad, especially when you find a delicious crab cake stand – and then see your crew huddled right next to it. Double win.

I see many Key West visits in my future, especially if I end up staying in Miami for a few more months. Old Cutler to Coconut Grove will always be my favorite drive, but the trek through the Keys is a close second.

Are you following The Morning Fresh on Twitter yet? ‘Cause you should be.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Photography, Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

4 Comments on “A weekend in Key West with fireworks, tequila shots, and cotton candy sunsets”

  1. AK
    July 14, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Fantasmic Photographs :)

  2. July 18, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Beautiful photos…thanks for sharing! :)

    • July 18, 2011 at 1:14 am #

      Thank you, Jolyse! Glad you enjoyed ’em.

  3. Lauren
    July 18, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    Katie, your photography is really great… that first pic is gorgeous, and I am amazed at those shots of the fireworks!

Leave a Reply

