Coffee cake muffins, climbing and Masa are on the agenda – must be Valentine’s Day!

I had forgotten how much I love Valentine’s Day until last night, when my good friend Cealey surprised me with beautiful sunflowers at my condo.

Cealey’s unexpected gift was a sudden reminder that I was a horrible valentine and hadn’t planned anything special for Niko. He made us fancy reservations at Masa for an amazing meal of Asian-fusion cuisine – and I had nothing more than a little mailbox and a tiny strawberry grow kit.

Around midnight, I started furiously cutting heart shapes out of red and white construction paper. I crafted some pipe cleaners into hearts, and scrounged up some sparkly confetti that I had in my bottomless craft drawer. In the morning, I woke up extra early and whipped up a batch of crumbly coffee cake muffins. I attached paper hearts to toothpicks, and adorned each treat with a sweet message.

Everything got arranged together in a simple basket I had at the house, and a jellyfish doodle got upgraded with two glued on hearts – bam, instant card. Add a few Werther’s butterscotch drops, some curled ribbon and festive issue paper, and you’ve got yourself one sweet Valentine’s surprise!

It was a mission to deliver the package, but it eventually found its way to Niko. He texted me claiming that it was the “best vday present EVER,” so I must have done fairly well.

Now it’s off to find an outfit that’s going to be fancy enough for pad thai and Chilean sea bass at Masa, yet comfortable enough for two hours of climbing directly after dinner – it is Monday folks, so climbing club is a must.

Happy Valentines, or un-Valentines, Day!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Do-It-Yourself, Stories & Odes

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

One Comment on “Coffee cake muffins, climbing and Masa are on the agenda – must be Valentine’s Day!”

  1. February 15, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    Saved as a favorite, I enjoy your blog! :)

Leave a Reply

