Where I am now – crushing Mulletino (V5) in Horse Pens 40.

Enjoying your weekend, readers? As you nurse your hangovers and bask in the laziness of your Saturday afternoon, I’ll be out in the boulder fields at Horse Pens 40. I’ve got a decent list of projects, but one of my favorite routes is Mulletino (V5).


I made mild attempts on this great roof problem during my last trip to Horse Pens, but now I have returned with more experience and determination. The top out of this route is downright sketchy – I’m talkin’ a high-ball finish on a mossy slab that has become overgrown from the lack of climbers brave enough to top it out.

Luckily, I discovered that the route sans top out still qualifies as a V5 problem. With a top out, it’s a solid V6. Let me tell you, the extra grade is not worth the inevitable crash towards the ground.

Happy climbing – or couch surfing.
Expect lots of photos of me (hopefully) sending Mulletino upon my return!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Rock Climbing, Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

5 Comments on “Where I am now – crushing Mulletino (V5) in Horse Pens 40.”

  1. dad
    February 5, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Great photo!

    • February 7, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      Thanks! There’s a few shots from this weekend’s trip that are even better – namely because I was able to get further on the route this time.

  2. Kirby
    February 7, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Gettin’ strong Katie! Keep it up.

    • February 7, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

      I’m tryin’! Mulletino was not a send, but next time, it shall be. I just need a few days to entirely dedicate myself to this problem. Come join us on the next trip!

      • Kirby
        February 8, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

        I’ll try my hardest! Being a working stiff is rough. Can’t skip classes to drive 10 hrs!

Leave a Reply

