What’s in your climbing pack? The readers have spoken!

I asked my loyal readers a simple question: “What are the top 10 items you’d pack for a climbing trip?” – And the most popular answer came from a non-climber.

“Whiskey, beer, other intoxicating substances, sleeping pills, cigarettes, lighter, fanny pack, sunglasses, and band aids for when you consume all the special treats from your fanny pack and fall flat on your face and break your sunglasses.” – Anonymous

Not exactly the most prolific packing list, but she clearly won the reader’s choice award for her witty answer. Other honorable mentions included mail order Russian brides, nail clippers, guts, a competitive spirit, etc.

What would I stick in my custom made Kendal Jackson pack? My camera, chapstick, fruit leathers, wet wipes and my trusty green water bottle. Check out my packing list from my November trip to Little Rock City.

My favorite answer came from Jeff Williams, who would pack “Nutella, Rigby, CLIMB ON, and Niko” – Rigby is his beautiful Jeep that I lived in for two weeks over the summer during our epic road trip.

Continue reading for more reader submitted packing lists!

“Peanut butter, jelly, bread, knife, tape, head lamp, sleeping bag, water, flip flops, a bag to keep it all in? Pretty much all I pack on my trip.” – Alex Woo

“Bottle of whiskey, flask, and beans.” – Erick Delgado

Head lamp, good pair of stretchy jeans, sleeping bag, tape, camera, snacks to share, water, a good dog like sender, warm tent, and toilet paper!” – Cealey Godwin

TP.” – Tally Rock Gym

What would YOU bring on a climbing trip?

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Rock Climbing

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

2 Comments on “What’s in your climbing pack? The readers have spoken!”

  1. Lauren
    February 2, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    What are fruit leathers? They sound like a yummy snack. I could be totally wrong. If they are food, where do you get them!? The closest thing I have found to what might be a “fruit leather” are the dried mangoes from New Leaf, Mmmmm!

    • February 2, 2011 at 11:05 am #

      Well you can certainly scoop some fruit leathers from New Leaf! They are basically thin strips of dried pureed fruit, apple is my favorite flavor. Check out the website, since I probably did a horrible job of describing them – http://www.stretchislandfruit.com/

Leave a Reply

