The Crash Pad of Chattanooga revolutionizes the hostel concept for adventurers of all breeds

Throughout the winter months, my climbing pals have been itching to head north to crags in Tennessee and Georgia. I have also craved an outdoors adventure, but the thought of spending a night sleeping outside in below freezing conditions usurps my desire to get my hands on real rock.

Frigid wind blowing through a flimsy tent as I shiver and shake my way through the night? No thanks, I’m a lady. Sleeping in a hotel is hardly an acceptable alternative; no self-respecting climber retreats to a fancy hotel after spending the day trekking through wilderness.

Thankfully, The Crash Pad is changing everything. The geniuses behind this phenomenal concept are bringing a hostel-style lodging facility to downtown Chattanooga, offering a haven for climbers, kayakers, hikers and every explorer in between.

According to their website, their mission is “to further establish Chattanooga as an ultimate outdoor destination by providing a base camp and community hub for adventurous travelers.” Hell yeah!


My favorite aspect of this establishment is their goal to blend the free spirit and sense of community you find in a hostel with the cleanliness and charming atmosphere of a small hotel. They hope to open by May 2011, and I will definitely be making a trip out to my beloved Chattanooga to scope it out.

Check out The Crash Pad’s Facebook page for constant updates on their construction process and related community events. They also post some sweet climbing videos.

Seriously, do I really need any more reasons to move out to Chattanooga? This place is just screaming my name. Someone needs to find me a good writing gig out there ASAP.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Current Events, Rock Climbing, Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Update on The Crash Pad and a Peek at Tally Rock Gym’s “Save the South” benefit! | The Morning Fresh - March 2, 2011

    […] late January, I shared my enthusiasm about a project put together to create an adventurer-friendly hostel in my beloved city of Chattanooga, Tennessee. My original post only showed an artist rendering of […]

Leave a Reply

