Greetings from Diablo Canyon, New Mexico

I haven’t traveled to New Mexico since the summer my family moved back to Miami, FL from San Jose, CA – but lucky for you, a fellow climber from Tallahassee Rock Gym recently took a beautiful trip to the Diablo Canyon area of New Mexico and snapped plenty of photos to share.


During my last visit to New Mexico, I knew nothing of climbing. I spent my travels visiting UFO museums and stealing rocks from construction sites with my family. If only I had known!

The images that Adam captured during his road trip throughout the central region of New Mexico illustrate the beautiful landscapes and outrageous rock formations that litter canyons and desert terrain. The climbing in this area offers basalt rock, primarily trad and sport routes.


After reading up on the Diablo Canyon area, I learned that the crags in this region largely seem to be a free-for-all, with very little regulation and trails that often become overgrown from a lack of proper maintenance. The main things I took from my research: Diablo Canyon is apt to experiencing wild flash floods that can wash a car away in seconds – interesting.


Sounds like a real serious adventure, if you ask me. My lead climbing skills have only taken me a meek three clips up the lead wall at the Tallahassee Rock Gym, but I think it’s about time to start honing in on that skill.

Next time you’re considering a new place to explore for a climbing trip, give Diablo Canyon some thought. Best of all, you can stop in Hueco Tanks on the way!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Rock Climbing, Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

