Misadventure in the Panhandle and Belated Monday Motivation

Yesterday was a Federal holiday, which excuses my lack of posting – right? If not, I’ll continue to blame the lack of internet access at my condo as the reason why I have been slacking in the daily update department. Yes, it is Tuesday, but I think we all still deserve our weekly dose of Monday Motivation. I felt drawn to Marianne’s quote this week because it applied to my experience with misadventures during my supposed camping trip to Saint George Island on Sunday evening.

Before I dive into the storytelling, here’s your quote:

“Think before you react. The cooler you remain, the more credibility you gain.”
– Marianne Curtis

The trip out to the Saint George/Tate’s Hell area proved to be a true test of my new years resolution: to start going with the flow more. After leaving two hours later than expected, Brooke and I raced the setting sun towards the coastline. Brooke must have snapped a dozen photos of the blazing colors that flushed the sky with bright hues of pink and orange. Alas, we didn’t hit the seaside until the sun had already dipped beyond the horizon, but we did manage to spend the next four hours driving aimlessly around Carrabelle and the surrounding areas in search of a campsite.

As for the boys on bikes? Well, one of them made it. About halfway down the St. Marks Trail, Jeffrey experienced a snag of his backpack on his rear tire, resulting in a little crash that knocked him out of the race to St. George Island. Kendal took over his bicycle, and continued to pedal alongside Niko while Jeff abandoned the quest. The two remaining explorers spent their day biking for about 10 miles at a time, with stops for food and resting in between.

Unfortunately, about a dozen miles before the finish line, Kendal was forced to raise a white flag and surrender to the road. With two popped tires and unable to continue pushing forward, he urged Niko to continue the trek alone.

Without getting all worried-girlfriend about it, Niko nearly died on the final stretch of his journey. With no lights to guide him as he passed over the St. George Bridge, Niko’s front tire hit an unidentified object that sent his beloved fixed-gear sailing into the air – and almost over the side of the bridge. In true Niko form, he recovered from his death-defying moment and managed to ride until he hit the beach. Mission accomplished. I bought him a chocolate milk to celebrate, of course.

The only photograph that stands as evidence of Niko's epic 96 mile bike ride to Saint George Island. What a hunk. (Photo by: Raychel Putman)

After meeting up with the boys on bikes, we proceeded to scour the area in search of a campsite, which I paid $10.00 at the nearby closed ranger station in an attempt to follow the ‘honor system.’ We investigated dozens of places, wasted half a tank of gas and even ventured a few miles down a dirt road before calling it quits around 10:00 PM and heading back to Tallahassee for whiskey and beer.

Like I said, it was an inevitable misadventure. Digressing back to this week’s inspirational quote, I learned a lot about patience and adaptability on this trip. Normally, I would have gotten frustrated and irritated by the boys’ lack of planning or ability to find me a damn campsite. Instead, I kept my cool and just went along for the ride. Yes, the camping was a failure, and yes, I did waste a lot of gas, but I earned a few hours of quality time with my good friend Ryan, and now have a reason to take control the next time the boys try to tell me “we’ll figure it out when we get there.”

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

7 Comments on “Misadventure in the Panhandle and Belated Monday Motivation”

  1. AK
    January 18, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    I am very disappointed in Niko for not biking back.

    • January 18, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      Seriously, what a wuss. He wasn’t even sore the next morning, he totally could have done it.

      • AK
        January 19, 2011 at 11:09 am #

        I know! By the way, digging the new layout. Reminds me of a Panda.

  2. dena
    January 18, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    glad you are all okay!

  3. shane
    January 23, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    “FACE PALM”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Franklin County on the web January 18th, 2011 | The Daily Blog Awards - January 18, 2011

    […] Misadventure in the Panhandle and Belated Monday Motivation  […]

Leave a Reply

