On the Youth Team Photoshoot, Lessons in Poor Lighting and Another Failed Climbing Trip

In an effort to expand my photography horizons, I offered to snap some shots of the Youth Team at the Tallahassee Rock Gym last week. My excitement for this new venture was very quickly diminished as I realized that the rock gym has terrible – read horrific – lighting during the evening. Nevertheless, I worked with that I had and was able to snag a few decent photos throughout the evening. To be frank, I am not a proud mama to any of these pictures, but I’m pleased that at least a small batch were worthy of being posted on The Morning Fresh for your viewing pleasure.

Next time, I’ll have to resort to harassing the Youth Team members with my spot lights to ensure that I’m able to capture higher quality photos. It’s always a struggle to find a balance between lighting and graininess when you’re shooting in the dark. The new Nikon has taught me that photography is a constant process of learning, adjusting and making mistakes.

In other news, the climbing trip to Rocktown has been trumped by Mother Nature herself, as usual. Silly me didn’t realize that every state in the Southeast, except for Florida, has been knee-deep in a snow storm. When the Weather Channel started spitting out warnings about “black ice expected throughout central and south Georgia roadways” and warning “travelers should exercise extreme caution in hazardous conditions,” I figured my little Scion tC might not be up for the challenge.

Instead, the famous Kendal Jackson will be gracing Tallahassee with his dread-locked presence, which means that I will be abusing my paparazzi privileges at the rock gym for another sweet photo shoot – this time with drastically improved lighting, thank you. As for the rest of my Thursday, the evening will be concluded with a tasty girls’ night dinner, and perhaps I’ll share a few photos if our cooking skills prove worthy!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Photography, Rock Climbing, Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

