What a Beautiful Day for an Anniversary!

Happy November 23rd, readers. Today marks the one year anniversary of my relationship with my boyfriend, Niko. It all started with an innocent bike ride up the St. Marks Trail during November of 2009. As I pedaled weakly behind Niko’s effortless pace, I found myself falling in love with a near stranger. As overwhelming as those first emotions were, the months following our first date proved that trusting love is not a vain effort.

Together, Niko and I have traveled all around the United States. We started small with a weekend trip to Atlanta in December 2009, where we visited the Atlanta Aquarium. We’ve ventured on an assortment of different climbing trips, from Horse Pens 40 in Alabama to Little Rock City in Tennessee. During May, we drove to Sarasota for a great beach house weekend with my family. Over summer, we embarked on a two-week road trip together and adventured through Oklahoma, Kansas, Colorado, Wyoming and Utah. We’ve explored the beautiful city of Chattanooga, including stops at the Tennessee Aquarium and Chattanooga Farmers Market. Traveling is a key element of our relationship, and I can’t wait to see what adventures the future has in store for us. A return trip has been planned to revisit Little Rock City and Rocktown in December, and climbing in Hueco Tanks awaits during springtime.

Tonight, I’ll be treating Niko to a rare occasion – a home-cooked meal by yours truly. If I manage to not burn the kitchen down, I’ll be serving a delicious feast of snow crab legs (complete with melted butter and lemon wedges), baked potatoes, my mom’s famous green beans and a roasted head of garlic served with naan. For dessert, we’ll be having vanilla shortcake topped with strawberries and whipped cream. After a year of putting up with me, Niko definitely deserves a good meal.

Niko, I love you more than words could ever express. Thank you for supporting everything I do, from my photography to my climbing. You’re the best coach a lady climber could ever ask for, and the best personal chef a girl could imagine. You are a phenomenal person, and you’ve brought out the best in me. Here’s to many more anniversaries, travel adventures and nights spent watching Food Network. I adore you, spud.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Stories & Odes

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

4 Comments on “What a Beautiful Day for an Anniversary!”

  1. Katie
    November 23, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    Congratulations to both of you shining stars:)

    And save some leftovers for me!

    XOXOXO

    Katie Gwynn-Sackson

    • November 24, 2010 at 6:01 am #

      Thank you beautiful lady! I need to see your pretty face soon. (Also, there were no leftovers, just two very, very full people and a whole lot of mess.)

  2. AK
    November 24, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    As Niko’s best friend and a good friend of yours, I feel like this is my relationship too. Thus I am broken that I could not join in in such a delicious meal :(

    JK Thanks for being (BY FAR) the best female Niko has had relations with!!

    Stay around, ok?

    AK

    • November 24, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

      Oh sir, you’ll be stuck with me for a long, long time. :) I think our naptime together in Niko’s bed really solidified our relationship. I’ll cook you a right nice dinner one day!

Leave a Reply

