Tasty Thursdays – Star Seas Cafe in Railroad Square is Closing its Doors on November 6th.

Folks, it is with a heavy heart that I spread the news that the charming red caboose at Star Seas Cafe will be serving its last parfaits and spicy black bean burgers this weekend. On Friday, they’ll be serving their usual tent-style dixie cups of beer for a few bucks during First Friday, and hopefully I’ll be able to snag one last chicken salad sandwich. Saturday evening, they’ll be hosting a farewell party from 5:30-11:00. The entire evening will be accompanied by live bands, like The Popheads and Justice of Funk.

This was the first film shot taken with my old Canon AE-1; the caboose of Star Seas Cafe. (Photo by: Katie Boue)

This Railroad Square staple always satisfied my munchies when I spent long days at the nearby Tally Rock Gym. The first time my old roommates and I decided to live together, we were stationed at a cramped little table in the old caboose, munching on burgers and fresh fruit. I’ll miss their gooey brownies, their granola parfaits drizzled with honey, their not-so-sweet sweet tea and the twinkling of their outdoor string lights. With both Bakin’ N Bacon and Star Seas abandoning the Railroad Square Warehouse district, I simply do not know what I’m going to do when the munchies strike while I’m climbing at the rock gym. I suppose I’ll have to stick to my usual everything bagel down the road at All Saints Cafe.

Star Seas, you will be missed! Thank you for all the tasty treats, the Railroad Square camaraderie and everything that you’ve shared with the hippies and hipsters of the humble warehouse collection. We are all sad to see you go, but can’t wait to party with you one last time this weekend.

It’s the end of an era.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Current Events, Tasty Treats & Recipes

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

6 Comments on “Tasty Thursdays – Star Seas Cafe in Railroad Square is Closing its Doors on November 6th.”

  1. Kelsey
    November 4, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Shawnna told me about that! I’ve always seen it at First Friday but I’d never been to it.

    • November 4, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      You should absolutely check it out! All of the art galleries open up, there are a ton of food vendors, and of course, the rock gym is open all night! It’s a great evening of Tallahassee fun.

  2. AK
    November 4, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    I was so sad to hear that they were closing!

    AK

    • November 4, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

      I think we all were. Local businesses like Star Seas and the Rock Gym always seem to be struggling, but it’s still heartbreaking when you hear that one is finally going under. I’m really curious what is going to replace them, if anything.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Horse Pens Part II: My AE-1 Photography « The Morning Fresh - November 5, 2010

    […] Facebook Page « Tasty Thursdays – Star Seas Cafe in Railroad Square is Closing its Doors on November 6th. […]

  2. Railroad Party Cups - November 12, 2010

    […] Tasty Thursdays – Star Seas Cafe in Railroad Square is Closing its … On Friday, they'll be serving their usual tent-style dixie cups of beer for a few bucks during First Friday, and hopefully I'll be able to snag one last chicken salad sandwich. Saturday evening, they'll be hosting . Thank you for all the tasty treats, the Railroad Square camaraderie and everything that you've shared with the hippies and hipsters of the humble warehouse collection. We are all sad to see you go, but can't wait to party with you one last time this weekend. […]

Leave a Reply

