What Makes a Party?

After a gorgeous weekend in Chattanooga, Niko and I finally pulled into the semi-familiar backwoods of Tallahassee late last night, just as my iPhone battery finally died. We trekked home, and poured ourselves into his bed. I can’t remember the last time I slept so soundly.

This morning I woke up feeling like I was been beaten with a heavy stone. I had felt the tension and pulling of my muscles yesterday afternoon while I attempted The Main Event (V4) at Little Rocky City, but I didn’t realize the extent of my body abuse until the next day. My soreness and overall drained vibes have entirely usurped my urge to tend to my physical appearance, and thus I made my way to my first class of the day with unbrushed hair, unshaved armpits and yesterday’s stale socks.

Naturally, given my disheveled condition, today was one of the few times of the semester that I ran into a friend on campus. Eric and I spotted each other near the Union crosswalk, and followed the brick path towards my classroom together. He said to me,

“You look tired – like you’ve had a long weekend of partying.”

Too genuine of a friend for me to be offended by this comment that many women would liken to being told they look ‘swollen’ – read: fat – I instead began to consider the relationship between looking like I had been out partying all weekend with the reality that my wrecked appearance was a result of a long weekend spent adventuring and celebrating, if you will, Mother Earth.

Yes, I had a long weekend of partying – except for a few minor detail alterations. Switch the beer and vodka with heirloom tomatoes and bison burgers; replace keg stands with boulder climbing; aquariums and winding mountain roads instead of nightclubs and liquor stores. Hell yeah, I had a great weekend of Chattanooga-style partying. Thanks for the compliment, Eric.

Plenty of photos from exploring the Tennessee Aquarium and climbing at Little Rock City are on the way! I snapped a few shots with the AE-1, but I still have a couple exposures left on the roll so it’ll be a few days until I get those up. Until then, I promise a handful of digital photos to satisfy your adventure cravings.

Other things to look forward to this week (and next) on The Morning Fresh: an adorable recipe for cinna-mummy baked apple wedges, advice for camping in preparation for the Climbing Club at FSU’s trip to Horse Pens 40, a feature post on high school classmate Andrew Kenward’s music-based A.K. Jigga and loads more. Also very exciting, my article on Amendment 4 was featured on the Florida2010.org website as a guest blog! Click here to check it out. If anyone missed my interview on the Joyce Kaufman talk show on Friday, shoot me a comment and I’ll send you a recording. Have a beautiful Monday, readers!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Stories & Odes, Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

2 Comments on “What Makes a Party?”

  1. dena harrington
    October 18, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    Yes, Katie dear, I would love to hear the interview and was upset that I was unable to. Thanks! Keep up the good work!

    • October 19, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

      Dena – just sent you a copy of the recording!

Leave a Reply

