Image of the Day

Today’s post is a double whammy image of the day and climbing inspiration of the day. This is a real wall featured at the Illoiha Gym in Japan. This unique facility combines artistic style with the art of climbing, and I would love to be able to spend a day on a wall like this. Everything from picture frames and mirrors to flower pots and deer antlers are secured to the wall and eligible for use as holds.

If you look closely, you’ll see that they also have conventional holds mixed in. I’m not sure how practical this arrangement is for setting new routes, – and I don’t really see any routes at all – but it is a really phenomenal concept.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Inspiring Images, Links & StumbleUpon, Rock Climbing

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

5 Comments on “Image of the Day”

  1. Donna
    October 2, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    The real question here is where are they belays….and how do they manage to not kick in the mirrors when climbing?

    • October 2, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

      That’s what I’m sayin’! There has to be anchors up there, there’s no way they’d let people climb all the way up there without a rope.

      • Donna
        October 3, 2010 at 10:43 am #

        of course not! but still…I see no ropes on these peoples…and I’m pretty sure the mirrors are quite distracting….and not good hand holds…neither would the frames…but I can see climbers shoes using the pointed toe under the frame as an interesting foot hold. u make me miss my climbing days in kendall

  2. Mcgoo
    October 9, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    My mood has just been lifted. I love it. I haven’t seen something so encompassing of youthful imagination and spirit in quite a while. I take back all of my comments about how crazy the Japanese are, they’re just eccentric!

    • October 10, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

      Okay, how about this – I move to Denver with you and Steve, and we make all the walls of our house into awesome climbing walls like this. I think it’s a fantastic plan.

Leave a Reply

