In Loving Memory of Donny Foster.

Two years ago, while I was walking out the door of my old apartment to take a Biology final, I received a painful phone call from my friend Stephanie Parness. Through hysterical bursts of tears, she told me that our amazing, wise, loving and kind friend Donny Foster had taken his own life. It was the first time that I had ever experienced the loss of a close companion, and the thought of that day still leaves me with shaky emotions.

My old best friend, Mikahila Berkman, took Donny’s passing the hardest of anyone. Donny was the most phenomenal young mind to grace this earth, and the world will never recover from the loss of his intuitive wisdom that would have inevitably conquered huge issues in our society to make this world a better place. I think Mikhaila was moved by the idea that what we lost in Donny can never be replaced. No one will be able to match his rib-crushing hugs; no one can retell his ridiculous jokes in outlandish accents; no one can fill the void he left behind.

In honor of his memory, Mikhaila is walking in the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention’s ‘San Francisco WalkOut of the Darkness Community Walk’ today in California. Alongside thousands of other participants, Mikhaila is working to spread awareness in hopes that other lives can be spared from senseless acts of self-harm. I highly encourage that everyone takes whatever they can spare, and donate to her mission – by clicking here. Even if you can only donate a few dollars, everything counts.

I want to thank Mikhaila for walking on behalf of all of Donny’s friends, peers, family members and everyone who still yearns to wake up one morning and see Donny’s floppy-headed curls bouncing around as he attacks us with his famous hugs. I wish I could participate in this cause, but hope that this post will do its part to raise awareness and spread the word. We love and miss you Donny Foster.

Again – click here to make any donation you can to the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention. You don’t just have to donate in the memory of Donny Foster; this is an event to memorialize everyone we have lost to the crippling act of suicide. Thank you for helping me to spread awareness about this heavy subject, I promise for a more light-hearted post soon.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Links & StumbleUpon, Stories & Odes

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

