They’re Alive!

We can all stop biting our nails, because Niko and McGoo are safely back in Mama Kate’s loving hands. I received a call from Dan, who was sitting on a 3-foot ledge near the summit while I was climbing indoors at The Enclosure. My first question was, “Did everyone make it okay?” He answers, “Uh, not exactly.” I almost had a heart attack.

Dan clarified and explained that Niko and McGoo had opted not to continue to climb after they camped out on the Lower Saddle of the Teton. They had begun the descent while Dan continued onward with the rest of the group. One of our friends, Chester, took a 40 foot whip a few pitches in, and after a little more dangerous climbing with a little vomiting mixed in, the group decided to throw the towel in on the ascent. I was relieved.

I knew Niko probably wouldn’t have a way to contact me, so I left the gym and headed straight for the trailhead where I dropped them off – perfect timing. I got a big kiss from Niko, and a fantastic hug and kiss from McGoo.

We returned to Jackson Hole, where McGoo was on a mission to find a shirley temple. His wish was granted, and we all enjoyed icy sodas to refresh our parched souls. Now, we are relaxing at the Pony Express Motel. Jeff, Dan and the rest of the crew are still somewhere on the mountain, so let’s keep the positive mojo flowin’ their way!

In the meantime, here are a few shots from The Enclosure. The gym is awesome, and the setting is excellent. I had a great time working routes in the cave. I was the only person in the joint, which was lovely. They kept changing the music whenever Daft Punk came on, which is my only complaint. Who turns off Daft Punk?

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Rock Climbing, Stories & Odes, Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

7 Comments on “They’re Alive!”

  1. The Mom
    July 25, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    Now you have a cool mountain survival story to tell.

    • July 26, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

      Well they do, I just have some nice memories of beer and burritos in Jackson Hole – but hey, that’s fine by me!

  2. Grace
    July 26, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    Wow, that gym looks amazing! And I agree, who turns off Daft Punk?!

    • July 26, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

      The girl clearly had no musical taste, haha. She kept playing this odd ambient music, totally not conducive for the climbing spirit. Did you enjoy Tally Rock Gym when you went?

      • Grace
        July 28, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

        I loved it! I want to go back once a week. My arms are SO SORE though! I have no upper body strength lol

  3. AK47
    July 26, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    I’m glad Niko and Jeff made it back alive and well. I don’t think the Teton could do too much damage on those motherfuckers, they’re too touch. Give them my best!

    • July 26, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

      Haha Niko and McGoo made it alive yesterday, poor Jeff didn’t make it off the mountain until 3 AM – but now all my little babies are safe and sound!

Leave a Reply

