Colorado and Wyoming Surprises

Shalom from Interstate 80 West, deep in Wyoming as we drive past the impressive natural landmark of Table Rock. Last night we finally had our first night of camping in Colorado, although it took us until about 2 AM to find a location we could legally/safely pitch our tent. When we finally entered Colorado last evening, it was too dark to appreciate our surroundings. However, this morning when I woke up at the crack of dawn and ventured outside the tent, my eyes could not stop absorbing all of the natural beauty around us. Colorado is my new favorite state.

The day started off well, with Niko reminding me that today is our 8 month anniversary – officiating me as his longest relationship.

Things only got better, as I finally received an email from the company I interviewed with last week. I GOT THE JOB! I can now officially call myself a travel writer, which is a dream come true for me. It will be a bittersweet goodbye to my job at Tallahassee Taekwondo Academy, but I am endlessly excited to start working towards my true career passion.

We ate breakfast at a friendly local restaurant, “Egg & I.” My breakfast came with some of the best bacon I have ever tasted. Niko didn’t want to spend money, so he only ordered a coffee. The restaurant manager deemed this unacceptable, and insisted that Niko eat a muffin on the house. Niko refused, typical, but the manager brought him a freshly baked blueberry muffin with butter and an orange slice anyways. “I can’t watch someone not eat something in my restaurant,” cited the man. I am still blown away by this random act of kindness.

When we got back on the road, I was so caught up in my excitement over the job that I didn’t even notice when we crossed the Colorado border into Wyoming. A few hours in, we realized we were in dire need of gas. Jeff veered off the first exit he happened upon, which yielded no sources of fuel, but brought us upon a fantastic collection of granite boulders. We explored them for about an hour, and it got me pumped for some beautiful climbing scenery.

We’re about 4 hours away from meeting up with Dan Cardenas in the Grand Tetons. I’m looking forward to a warm shower and a hot meal. Keep the comments coming, they entertain me during these long stretches of endless road.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Stories & Odes, Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

2 Comments on “Colorado and Wyoming Surprises”

  1. dena harrington
    July 24, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Yeah Katie, congrats on your job, I am so proud of you! I am glad you are enjoying your vacation, the Tetons are absolutely beautiful, you will love them, great photos, to be sure. Keep the commentary coming, love you and miss you! Be safe. Dena

    • July 24, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

      Thank you Dena! I’m spending the night in Jackson Hole, it is adorable here. I love the old western flavor. And naturally, I’m taking tons of pictures. :)

Leave a Reply

