Notes on Oklahoma

To preface how unfortunate my time in Oklahoma was, I’ll share with you that I wrote a lengthy post about it, which was devoured by my iPhone before it could be published. – But write on, I must.

The crew spent our evening in the horribly boring town of Tulsa, OK. We primarily stayed on the campus of the University of Tulsa, where Jeff studied during his freshman year. We spent our evening in his old fraternity house, Kappa Sigma. Here are my notes on Tulsa:

– As McGoo duly observed, Tulsa has some of the most beautiful grass any of us have ever encountered. The entire UT campus had perfectly manicured lawns, which had grass reminiscent of a golf course. Even the nearby Walmart had pristine grassy hills surrounding the parking lot.

– While we’re on the topic of Walmart, Tulsa has the creepiest one I’ve ever been in. In the chip isle, I was pursued by a leather-skinned farm worker via a series of tongue clicks, similar to those used to summon a small animal. Charming.

– Last night was my first experience in a frat house, and I can assure you that I will never willingly step into another one. The ‘abandoned’ room we slept in was infested with dust mites and moldy Taco Bell leftovers. One frat brother eloquently updated Jeff about the new pledges by saying, “Oh, did I tell you we got a deaf? It’s so funny. And we got a gay, but he moved to New York – typical.” It was quite difficult for me to hold my tongue.

– Ann’s Bakery right before the entrance to 412-West has delicious sweets, and fabulous old ladies. I bonded with one silver-haired charmer over our disdain for sausage, and they gave us free chocolate chip muffins on the promise that we would return on our way back down to Florida.

We’re nearing the Oklahoma-Kansas state lines now, and soon it will be my first shift of driving the Jeep. Hopefully I won’t kill us, or get us sucked up into the vortex of a tornado. Ideally, I’ll make it out alive to update you once we arrive in Colorado.

On a side note: last night 16 climbers had to be rescued from the Grand Tetons after a lightning storm branded them with second-degree burns, and left one climber still missing. Our friend Dan is assisting in the rescue efforts. My stomach is in knots over the thought of Niko encountering a similar storm while he summits the Grand Tetons with Dan this weekend. I am however now solid in my decision to skip out on the snowy summit and spend the evening in Jackson Hole with McGoo tossing back some brewskis instead.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Stories & Odes, Travel & Adventure

Author:Katie Boué

Katie Boué is the voice of TheMorningFresh.com - a travel lifestyle blog focusing on climbing, Airbnb life, and the outdoors.

2 Comments on “Notes on Oklahoma”

  1. Kirby
    July 22, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    katie write good :) keep it coming! and travel/climb safely.

    • July 23, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

      Thank you Kirby! I’ll be sure to keep it coming. We all miss you friend, wish you could climb with us!

Leave a Reply

